Leap of Faith

“Question! Can you be in Oakland from 7:15 to 9 tonight, and are you feeling brave?”

This is the text I get from my long time best friend, just as I am getting off of the train home. Now walking up the hill to my flat I am rolling the question, and it’s possible answers, around in my head.

In fact, I still regret the last time I declined an offer of adventure from this particular friend. With that in mind, I send back a cautious but enthusiastic reply. This time I will not miss out.

Bear in mind that I have just replied “yes” to the proposition above. Note that, at this point, no description of the actual activity in question has been related to me. This is how you end up hanging by your knees, reminding yourself to breathe, as the world spins by twenty-five feet below you.

My friend had signed me up for a class in flying trapeze.

With barely two hours notice, I gather up my things, kiss my partner hello/goodbye, and run back down the hill to catch BART to the East Bay. My heart is already pounding in anxiety and anticipation as I reached the turnstiles at West Oakland station, where my friend picks me up.

As we pull up outside the building my friend cheerfully explains to me how to find the class, and how to sign up. Then she waves good luck and pulls away from the curb.

People are gathering for the class as I come in, sitting on the L of couches that serve as a waiting area. Class starts in a few minutes, just enough time for introductions.And once I meet the instructor I am thrust straight into the mix.

When it is my turn I mount the ladder, puling myself up 25 feet of gently swaying rungs. At the top I am greeted by a girl, similarly dressed in yoga capris, sports bra, and a tank-top. She explains what I am expected to do. Follow directions, do nothing before I am told. My hands are on the bar (a familiar piece of equipment if you have ever seen a trapeze act), my feet are on the edge of the platform, toes gripping. I bend my knees at ‘ready’, and launch from the platform at ‘hup’. I am terrified, and exhilarated.

Now, two days later, I am painfully sore. And this may be all the lactic acid talking, but I am certain I have never before in my life had so many muscles aching at the same time.

With barely two hours notice, and after a full day at work, I had spent and hour and half learning to fly on the trapeze. I can easily count this among the most adventurous things I have ever done. In the end, the experience was well worth the bit of fear I had to overcome to get there.

You know how “they” always say to look before you leap?

I can tell you from experience that it is more exciting to leap before you look.

 

Exhaustedly yours,
Alex

 

Leave a comment